English | Français | Español
Search by

WTO SYMPOSIUM ON THE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY AGREEMENT (ITA) - Symposium de l'OMC sur l'Accord sur les Technologies de l'Information (ATI) - Simposio de la OMC sobre el Acuerdo sobre Tecnología de la información (ATI)

The 21st century is the era of information and communication technology. This sector is crucial for the world economy, not only due to its considerable size, but also because it is an important driver of productivity, innovation and ultimately, economic growth. World exports of IT products have tripled in value over the last 20 years, and account for almost 10 per cent of world merchandise trade. The Information Technology Agreement (ITA) has played a vital role in promoting affordable access to those technologies, and ITA participants account for 97 per cent of world trade on IT products.

ITA includes 82 WTO Members, the majority of them developing countries and economies. As many developing countries and economies, including some LDCs, are getting more involved in e-commerce and entering into digital economy, they are giving more importance to the ICT sector, and some of them have shown interest in joining the ITA.   

Uploaded Files
Trade Information
Project Number WTO17/1
Trade Category Tariff Negotiations - Non-Agricultural Market Access
Dates 10/05/2017 - 11/05/2017
Reporting Agency World Trade Organization (WTO)
Implementing Agencies / Countries World Trade Organization (WTO)
Cooperating Agencies Antigua and Barbuda
Host Country Switzerland
Invited Countries
Afghanistan; Albania; Algeria; Andorra; Angola; Antigua and Barbuda; Argentina; Armenia; Australia; Austria; Azerbaijan; Bahamas (The); Bahrain; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belarus; Belgium; Belize; Benin; Bhutan; Bolivia; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Botswana; Brazil; Brunei Darussalam; Bulgaria; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cambodia; Cameroon; Canada; Cape Verde; Central African Rep.; Chad; Chile; China; Chinese Taipei; Colombia; Comoros; Congo; Congo, Democratic Republic of; Costa Rica; Côte d'Ivoire; Croatia; Cuba; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Denmark; Djibouti; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; Egypt; El Salvador; Equatorial Guinea; Estonia; Eswatini; Ethiopia; European Union; Fiji; Finland; France; Gabon; Gambia (The); Georgia; Germany; Ghana; Greece; Greenland; Grenada; Guatemala; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Guyana; Haiti; Honduras; Hong Kong, China; Hungary; Iceland; India; Indonesia; Iran, Islamic Republic of; Iraq; Ireland; Israel; Italy; Jamaica; Japan; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Kenya; Korea, Rep. of; Kuwait; Kyrgyz Republic; Lao People's Democratic Republic; Latvia; Lebanon; Lesotho; Liberia; Libya; Liechtenstein; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Macao, China; Madagascar; Malawi; Malaysia; Maldives; Mali; Malta; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mexico; Moldova; Mongolia; Montenegro; Morocco; Mozambique; Myanmar; Namibia; Nepal; Netherlands; New Zealand; Nicaragua; Niger; Nigeria; Norway; Oman; Pakistan; Panama; Papua New Guinea; Paraguay; Peru; Philippines; Poland; Portugal; Qatar; Romania; Russian Federation; Rwanda; Samoa; Sao Tome and Principe; Saudi Arabia; Senegal; Serbia; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Singapore; Slovak Rep.; Slovenia; Solomon Islands; Somalia; South Africa; Spain; Sri Lanka; St. Kitts and Nevis; St. Lucia; St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Sudan; Suriname; Sweden; Switzerland; Syrian Arab Republic; Tajikistan; Tanzania, United Republic of; Thailand; The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; Timor-Leste; Togo; Tonga; Trinidad and Tobago; Tunisia; Turkey; Uganda; Ukraine; United Arab Emirates; United Kingdom; United States; Uruguay; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; Venezuela, Bolivarian Repubic of; Viet Nam; Yemen; Zambia; Zimbabwe
E-mail contact / Web Address


World Trade Organization, rue de Lausanne 154, CH-1211 Geneva 21, Switzerland
© World Trade Organization, 2012