English | Français | Español
Search by

WTO Regional Workshop on Sanitary and Phitosanitary Measures for Central and Eastern Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus Countries (CEECACs) - English
The Regional Workshop on the WTO Agreement on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures is organized by the WTO. The three international standard-setting organizations referenced to in the SPS Agreement, i.e., the Codex Alimentarius Commission, the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE), and the International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC) will also participate in this workshop with lectures and exercises in their respective field of expertise. The workshop will be tailored to the specific characteristics and needs of the region, encompassing, inter alia, the main provisions of the Agreement on SPS, the work of the SPS Committee, risk assessment, regionalization, equivalence, transparency and technical assistance. It will combine lectures, exercises and interactive dialogue aiming at the exchange of experiences and positions among the different countries and institutions involved. Consistent with the WTO's new Results Based Management (RBM) approach, participants' level of knowledge will be evaluated before and after the course. This will help to better evaluate the course's effectiveness in increasing participants' knowledge and skills and in meeting the course objectives. In addition, a needs assessment questionnaire will be sent to the selected participants before the activity in order to clearly identify needs/issues of interest.
Notes/Key results
The intended beneficiary countries are listed below.
Trade Information
Project Number SPS14/1
Trade Category Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures - General
Dates 08/09/2014 - 11/09/2014
Reporting Agency World Trade Organization (WTO)
Implementing Agencies / Countries World Trade Organization (WTO)
Cooperating Agencies
Host Country Austria
Invited Countries
Afghanistan; Albania; Armenia; Azerbaijan; Belarus; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Georgia; Iran, Islamic Republic of; Israel; Kazakhstan; Kyrgyz Republic; Moldova; Montenegro; Russian Federation; Serbia; Tajikistan; The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; Turkey; Ukraine; Uzbekistan
E-mail contact / Web Address


World Trade Organization, rue de Lausanne 154, CH-1211 Geneva 21, Switzerland
© World Trade Organization, 2012