English | Français | Español
Search by

Coordination of African Regional Cotton Sector Strategies Implementation
Cotton-Textile sector strategies for West (WAEMU), Central (ECCAS/CEMAC) and East and Southern (ESA) Africa have been fully completed and endorsed by stakeholders, national and regional authorities in an unprecedented display of alignment. The extent of the objectives set out in these three regional strategies requires an effective and coordinated implementation of actions, particularly as resources are scarce. It is also essential to ensure coherence and interdependency of activities and a fair representation of industry key operators within the Committees for coordination, monitoring and resource mobilization. At the same time it is worthwhile to invest in a fair representation of industry key operators within the committees for coordination, monitoring and resource mobilization to reduce fragmentation or misalignment of development activities. Efforts must be coordinated so that the means may be put in place for the successful achievement of the regional Implementation Plans and to promote transparency and understanding among key stakeholders of the actions that directly contribute to the sector’s export development and competitiveness. Uncoordinated actions and an inadequate sharing of tools and services might compel the various operators to develop new, incoherent, and incompatible strategies, incapable of fulfilling the hopes raised today among states and operators.
Notes/Key results
The intended Beneficiary Countries are listed below.
Trade Information
Project Number INT/75/33A
Trade Category Trade Promotion Strategy and Implementation
Dates 01/02/2013 - 31/12/2016
Reporting Agency International Trade Centre (ITC)
Implementing Agencies / Countries International Trade Centre (ITC)
European Union (EU)
Cooperating Agencies
Host Country Unallocated / To Be Determined / Not Available
Invited Countries
Angola; Benin; Burkina Faso; Cameroon; Central African Rep.; Chad; Congo, Democratic Republic of; Côte d'Ivoire; Guinea-Bissau; Kenya; Mali; Mozambique; Niger; Senegal; Tanzania, United Republic of; Togo; Zambia; Zimbabwe
E-mail contact / Web Address
itcreg@intracen.org / http://www.intracen.org


World Trade Organization, rue de Lausanne 154, CH-1211 Geneva 21, Switzerland
© World Trade Organization, 2012